We draw the attention of our readers to the Society of Legal Scholars Seminar 2009, Judges and Jurists: Reflections on the House of Lords, organised by Birmingham University Law School, which is taking place at the Law Society’s Hall in London, on 5 and 6 November 2009.  The programme can be found here.

This marks two events in 2009: the Centenary of the Society of Legal Scholars, and the transition from the House of Lords to the new Supreme Court. There will be a range of reflections on judicial reasoning and the interaction between judges, academics and the professions over a century of transformation.

There will be papers examining substantive issues in the Conflict of Laws, Public Law, Human Rights, Tort and Restitution, given by leading experts in those fields. Session chairs will include Arden LJ, Etherton LJ, and Professor Nick Wikeley (Southampton), Professor David Feldman (Cambridge), Professor Sarah Worthington (LSE) and and Professor Sir Frances Jacobs QC.

The Seminar is accredited for 12 CPD hours by both the Solicitors Regulation Authority and the Bar Standards Board.

Details are set out below:

  • Dates: Thursday 5 and Friday 6 November
  • Venue: Law Society’s Hall, London
  • Keynote Addresses: The Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG, formerly of the High Court of Australia The Rt Hon the Lord Rodger of Earlsferry, Justice of the Supreme Court
  • Speakers: Professor Anthony Arnull (Birmingham), Professor John Blackie (Strathclyde), Dr Alexandra Braun (Oxford), Prof Adrian Briggs (Oxford), Professor Elizabeth Cooke (Law Commission), Prof Brice Dickson (Queen’s Belfast); Dr Aileen Kavanagh (Oxford), Prof Andrew Le Sueur (Queen Mary), Mr James Lee (Birmingham), Prof Alan Paterson (Strathclyde), Ms Sangeeta Shah (Nottingham), Professor Keith Stanton (Bristol), Prof Jenny Steele (York) and Professor Graham Virgo (Cambridge)

A full programme and booking details are available at http://www.law.bham.ac.uk/news/2009events/sls2009.shtml. Any queries may be directed to the organiser, Mr James Lee, j.s.f.lee@bham.ac.uk.